London, Uncategorized

Blue skies – part 2

So in Part 1 I left you just as we’d completed Up at the O2 and were heading off for some dinner and a few well deserved beers before ELO. Since it was the main event of the weekend I thought the concert deserved a post all of its own!

I’d been particularly excited to discover on Twitter just a few days before the concert that the support act was The Feeling.

I first saw The Feeling back in 2008 and remembered them being a really good live act so we made sure we were in our seats in plenty of time for them.The first very pleasant surprise was just how good our seats were!

P1060620 (2)

Now I’m not sure how many of the crowd had actually heard of The Feeling before but they quickly got the crowd going and it was pleasing to see how many people were standing up and singing along. They turned out to be the perfect support act – especially when they played Join with Us, from the album of the same name, which had real echoes of ELO. Playing Wicked Heart from their new album The Feeling, Dan Gillespie Sells, declared “I’m not very good at Selling, I’m better at showing off”. Never was a truer word spoken as Sells demonstrated during an energetic performance of Love it when you call.

It was then time for ELO and I can honestly say I’ve never felt so excited before a concert. Next thing the lights went out and the intro to Tightrope started playing. As the stage slowly lit up, the screen behind the stage was illuminated with shots of the universe as the band made their way onto stage. Straight away half the crowd were on their feet dancing and singing along. A great opener! But better was to come – Evil Woman which has to be one of every ELO fan’s favourite songs.

P1060630

Next up was All over the world, followed by When I was a boy from their latest album, Alone in the universe. When you have so many hits it’s always a risk playing a track from a new album – not so when you are ELO. When I was a boy could have been taken straight from Out of the Blue.

It was straight back to the classics with Livin’ thing which had the entire O2 on their feet dancing along. It was then back to the new album with Ain’t it a drag. Then a change of tempo as they moved onto Strange Magic which gave everyone a chance to rest their feet before Rockaria got everyone back on their feet. 10538 Overture proved just how timeless ELO are – recorded in 1972 it could just as easily have been recorded today. Onto Secret Messages which to be honest isn’t one of my favourites – it did however, provide a good opportunity to grab a much needed beer after all the singing and dancing.

I’ve always lowed Steppin’ out – but it was particularly emotional hearing it played as my Dad sang along to:

“I’m steppin’ out
I’m moving on
I’m gonna see the world”

Which of course I’m just about to! Let’s just say that song is going to have particular memories from now on.

P1060634

Picking up the tempo again it was onto Shine a little love which once again had the whole crowd on their feet. And they stayed on their feet because next up was Wild west hero which had everyone singing along and swaying. It was a good job everyone had had a chance to warm up their vocal chords as next up was Telephone line. It was quickly back to dancing with Turn to stone which had Dad and I (and the rest of the O2!) dancing along very enthusiastically. ELO had hit their peak – next up was Don’t bring me down and Sweet talkin’ woman and the crowd continued to go wild. Then the moment I’d been waiting for – the distinctive opening bars of Mr blue sky and the stage illuminated in blue. I’ve never screamed so loudly in public and I must apologise to everyone sitting next to me as I’m pretty sure my singing (screaming?) probably drowned out ELO for them!

The realisation that this would probably be their last song dawned and as the crowd went crazy with applause I started wondering what the encore would be.

Before the encore though there was just time for the band to take a ‘selfie’ with them and the whole of the O2 crowd!

P1060639

It should have been obvious – as ELO made their way back onto stage, the opening bars of Beethoven‘s Fifth Symphony sounded signalling Roll over Beethoven. They couldn’t have picked a better song to close the show. On the way out of the O2 there were many many smiling faces – I had an amazing time and will always remember finally getting to hear Mr Blue Sky live. Even as a massive ELO fan I couldn’t believe how every song on the set list seemed better than the last one – it’s insane how many hits they have had over the years. Jeff Lynne’s voice is as crisp as it was back in the 1970s. Not to be overlooked was the overall spectacle of the concert, in keeping with their name the light show was amazing and perfectly choreographed to the songs. My only regret? Not getting tickets to more shows!

The full set list:

  • Tightrope
  • Evil Woman
  • Showdown
  • All over the world
  • When I was a boy
  • Livin thing
  • Ain’t it a drag
  • Strange magic
  • Rockaria
  • Overture 10538
  • Secret messages
  • Steppin out
  • Shine a little love
  • Wild west hero
  • Telephone line
  • Turn to stone
  • Don’t bring me down
  • Sweet talkin woman
  • Mr Blue Sky
  • *ENCORE* Roll over Beethoven

 

 

 

Leave a comment